I rented her a steed from a website that’s essentially the AirBnB of rental bikes. We went over to pick it up yesterday afternoon, but unfortunately got lost on the way. The owner had an Italian name, so I’d assumed that he’d be a young artist or similar lost soul from Italy (because this place is crawling with them).

When we arrived, I went into the courtyard and bumped hands with the owner (because his hands were covered in bike grease). He introduced himself, and then observed, “You’re late. Normally I would be upset, but today I’m working, so it’s OK.”

Definitely German.

 

IMG_3024.JPG

She’s a natural! (That’s The Very Excellent Velosiped, by the way–we swapped because the seat on the rental bike is a little (really) wonky.) To the right we have the Reichstag, the iconic government building. 

 

