1. There is no currency exchange at Domodedovo International Airport.

  2. Since Domodedovo mostly serves Russia and former Soviet republics, if you have citizenship from another country, there is no line to stand in at customs. Walk right up to the counter.

  3. An older Kyrgyz man and I made friends on the metro to the airport. He was flying home to visit family. He wanted to hang out at the airport. I thoguht that sounded like not the most fun, so I didn’t take his calls, but I was glad for the encounter.

  4. At the airport cafe, I ordered a large Americano. It was four ounces (standard for a cappuccino is 6, so an Americano should be at least that). A small came in an espresso cup. Not sure I managed not to laugh in the barista’s face, but I did try.

  5. At immigration, they give you a complimentary bottle of wine.

  6. Georgians prefer walking in the street to walking on sidewalks, even when sidewalks are available. You can cross at crosswalks, but you can also cross anywhere else, and the cars stop for you at about the same 2% rate regardless.

  7. When I first arrived, I felt like I was back in Spain or Malta. With time, I realized that actually I was just confused by the fact that the weather is mild here, and people organize their lives accordingly. You dry your clothes outside. People (especially men) gather on random street corners to chat. There’s dead, brown grass everywhere.

  8. Georgia is poorer than I’d expected. Lots of homeless people. Lots of “massage parlors.” Most of the residential buildings are actively crumbling. Heating and insulation are not a thing. Holes in floors, holes in sidewalks, holes in walls. I guess I never thought about the fact that they have very little in the way of natural resources, and this area of the country is probably not as blessed by the tourist industry as the ski resorts in the north and the beach resorts in the west.

