I tried to make the longest word I could for you, since I know English-speakers dig that. Sorry I couldn’t make it longer. It means “photos of Christmas market adventure and joy.” A German would probably smack me for making such a stupid word. But there it is.

Mom reminded me that I haven’t put up pictures of the Weihnachtsmärkte yet, and since the season is almost over, I probably need to get on that.

P1010421

This picture was taken at noon. I just want you to notice how the sun is so low even at its highest point that the trees from the next yard over cast shadows all the way across our courtyard.

P1010419

This Lego giraffe is for Thorin. Although it occurs to me that I think a picture was taken of it for him in 2010.

P1010394

The horses have real hair in their tails! We didn’t ride this, but I wanted to.

P1010398

We look like we’ve been walking around in the frigid air all day and not sleeping for a week…

P1010409

Nathan buying Glühwein

P1010397

WARNING if you are bothered by really poorly executed night photography, stop scrolling now.

P1010411

The thing in the back is a memorial of some kind. It’s not part of the market and is probably really depressing, as most German memorials are.

P1010413

THAT GIANT COPPER KETTLE IS FULL OF GLÜHWEIN.

P1010414

This is the Christmas market at Potsdamerplatz. Some of my friends think it’s an eyesore because it’s so bright, but I thought it was the best thing I’d ever seen.

P1010416

The blurriness here emulates the sensation of having drunk too much Glühwein…yeah, that’s it. Totally intentional.

P1010396

Taken from the base of the TV Tower (Tele-asparagus) at Alexanderplatz.

P1010404 P1010406 P1010407

